The Iron Butterfy: The Iron Butterfly Series Book 1


Title: The Iron Butterfly

Author: Chanda Hahn

Published: February 20, 2012 by Morningstar Books

Purchased: April 4, 2015, free, now $2.99 on Kindle.


Blurb: Imprisoned, starved and left with no memories, Thalia awakens to find herself at the mercy of an evil cult known as the Septori. Their leader has chosen Thalia as the test subject for a torture device of untold power, designed to change and twist her into something that is neither human nor Denai.

Escaping, Thalia finds an unwilling warrior to protect her and an unlikely Denai to befriend her. After finding a home at the Citadel as a servant, Thalia’s worst nightmare comes to life and she begins to show signs of power. Scared and unable to control her gifts, she tries to hide her past to fit in among the Denai. But the Septori want their latest test subject back and will stop at nothing to retrieve her, dead or alive.

Review: This was interesting, to say the least.

It started out by grabbing my attention but then it kind of slacked off and I got a little bored. I almost put the book down and wouldn’t have finished it but, I decided to push on because what kind of reviewer would I be if I just didn’t read through every book? I’m glad I didn’t put it down because it picked back up and held on to my attention with a vengeance.

Before I knew it, I was physically reacting when someone would show up, gasping and throwing my hands in the air. I’m just glad I was alone because I get strange looks when I react to a book in public.

There are two guys that she’s developing feelings for and for once, I’m not sure who I want her to be with, I don’t know who to root for.

There’s the plainly obvious choice and then there’s the mysterious guy who tells her that she should hate him and she’s starting to question his sanity, the one who switches emotions so fast, you’re getting whiplash for her.

I’m hopeful for this series, if it had not slowed down and bored me in that one section, it would have been five stars. Hopefully the rest of the series keeps up and doesn’t slow down or I will be very disappointed.

Thank you for reading my review.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: